UCONN K-12 Scholastic Championships

Michael Finneran, a sophomore at Roger Ludlow HS in Fairfield, CT scored a perfect 4.0 - 0.0 to take clear 1st in the Connecticut State Chess Association K-12 Open Championship and UCONN School of Engineering $14,000 Scholarship Tournament. Mr. Finneran won the 2009 K - 12 State Championship and the Denker Award as well as the top UCONN SoE scholarship prize of $8000 last year. He was not eligible to win another scholarship again but still returned successfully to the winner's circle in 2010. He will again represent the state of Connecticut in the Denker Tournament of High School Champions in Indianapolis, IN in August. The Denker Award comes with a $300 stipend to help defray expenses to this national event.

        Finishing 2nd at 3.5 - 0.5 after a mutually agreed upon blitz play-off against Jake Miller was Alex Fikiet, a sophomore at E. O. Smith HS. in Storrs, CT. Mr. Fikiet also took home the top UCONN SoE scholarship prize worth $8000. Jake Miller from Sleepy Hollow, NY, and a junior at Rockland Country Day School in Congers, NY took 3rd overall but earned the 2nd place UCONN SoE scholarship worth $4000. Alexandra Wiener, a sophomore at Staples HS in Westport, CT took 4th place overall also at 3.0 - 1.0. Ms. Wiener also finished as the top female scorer and won both the 2010 National Girls Open Award, ( formerly known as the Polgar Award ), and its $300 stipend, as well as the 3rd place UCONN SoE scholarship award worth $2000. Danny Pascetta, a 5th grader at Nayaug Elementary School, ( !!?? ), and a veteran New Britain CC member finished 5th overall.

        In the team division West Haven HS of West Haven, CT returned to the top spot after ceding it to Southington HS last year. West Haven was led by Danyal Sumra, Eddie Ozanne,Jeremy Turpin and Jeff McDonald. These fine stalwarts were supported by Cheetiri Smith, Jakes Adei, Brendan Morr, Zandy and Tony Nugyen and Rashid Ramadan. Taking 2nd in the team competition was Roosevelt Middle School, ( !!?? ), of Bridgeport, CT. Team members included Alfonzo Reid, Joseph Pettway, Danisha Thomas and Angel Rosado. Finishing 3rd was Amity HS of Woodbridge, CT whose 2, ( !!?? ), high scoring members, Avery Chen and Ryan Young, propelled Amity to the third position in the team division.

        Jeff McDonald of West Haven HS took the Top Upset prize, while Danyal Sumra also of West Haven HS took the 2nd Upset Prize. Matthew Stoddard of Smith Elementary in South Windsor, CT took 3rd Upset, while Jake Miller of Rockland Country Day School in Congers, NY and Ryan Young of Amity HS in Woodbridge, CT took the 4th and 5th Upset prizes respectively.

        We'd like to thank Chief TD David Aldi for another well run event ! He was ably supported by assistant TD's Jim Dunion, IM Jan van de Mortel, IM Robert Hungaski and John Fikiet, all from the UCONN CC..


UCONN K-8 Scholastic Championships


Max Lu, Ian Lomeli, and Chris Lomeli all scored a perfect 4 – 0 to take first place in the K-8 Open section, with Ian Lomeli taking 1st on tiebreaks, and Chris and Max taking 2nd and 3rd, respectively. 2nd Grader (!) Julian Ching Wang scored 3.5 points to take 4th. However, there was a massive 15 way tie for 5th with3 points. Because of this, a lot of prizes and trophies hang in the balance. A G/60 playoff will be played on the 16th of May. An update will follow shortly.


UCONN K-6 and K-3 Scholastic Championships

  Zachary Filler of Weston, CT scored a perfect 4 - 0 to take 1st place in the K-6 Open section of the CSCA K-6 Championship on March 28th in Storrs. Finishing 2nd through 5th respectively were Jeffrey Qu of Clifton Park, NY, James He of Woodbridge, CT, Eric Hilhorst of Simsbury, CT,  and Simon Kubrynski of Wolcott, CT. Top Upset Prize was won by Mihir Nene of Fairfield, CT !

        Philip Vlandis of Fairfield, CT won the K-6 Reserve with a perfect 4-0. Anthony Diaz Jr. of Glastonbury, CT, Andrew Rogozinski of Stamford, CT, Destin Piagentini of Fairfield, CT and Imad Rizvi of Glastonbury took 2nd though 5th respectively. Top Upset Prize was won by Destin Piagentini !

        Michael Cafiero of Stamford, CT also scored a fine 4-0 to take clear 1st in the K-3 Open. Finishing 2nd through 5th consecutively were Neev Suryawanshi, Rohan Suryawanshi, both of Stamford, CT, Rahul Krishnan and Rohan Krishnan both from Cambridge, MA. Top Upset Prize was won by Michael Cafiero !

        Finally, Tyrell Staples of Orange, CT scored a splendid 4-0 to take clear 1st in the K-3 Reserve. Following in order of finish for 2nd through 5th were Cogan Lawler of Stamford, CT, Ronan McDermott of Guilford, CT, Sadie Edelman of Weston, CT and Malcolm Katz of Fairfield, CT. Top Upset Prize was won by Benjamin Filler of Weston, CT !

        The top 5 teams were led by perennial powerhouse Riverfield Elementary of Fairfield followed in order of finish for 2nd through 5th by Hopewell Elementary of Glastonbury, CT, Northeast Elementary of Stamford, CT and Tariffville Elementary of Simsbury, CT.

Pictures (From top left, across)
1. IM Robert Hungaski helps analyze a game with Rohan Krishnan and Michael Cafiero at the K-8 Championships.
2. A view of one of the playing halls. Rached Ramadan, Michael Cafiero, Anthony Festa, and William Dunion appear in the front, competing in the K-12 Championships.
3. Alex Fikiet playing Eric Nechayev in the 2nd round of the K-12 Champs.
4. Jake Miller plays 2nd grader Julian Wang in the K-12 Champs. K-12 Winner Michael Finneran is in the background.
5. Some intense games at the K-8 Championships.
6. Julian Wang and Amir Loftis compete for a high place at the K-8 Championships in the last round.
7. K-8 Champion Ian Lomeli receives his trophy.